Mariage Freres – French Breakfast

May 24, 2011

Morgan had raved to me about Mariage Freres teas and scoffed at me like I was a naive fool for not being familiar with them , so I had to give this tea a try. The next day after she reminded me about the tea (she had given me some for my Birthday one year, but she didn’t label it, so I had no idea!), I went up to Napa with some friends and visited Dean & Deluca where they carried a line of Marige Freres teas. After smelling each tin carefully, I selected a black tea – French Breakfast. It was less daring than the other blends – but it had the perfect mix of a black tea (Earl) with floral hints, so I thought it would be the perfect daily afternoon tea I could brew at work.

I have to admit, it took me a few cups to get used to it  (because it is a rather odd blend),  but now I LOVE IT. It is such a smooth black tea and goes super well with a little cream and sugar. More than an afternoon, it has become my morning, in between morning and noon, and late afternoon tea 🙂 It has the perfect blend of black tea boldness with floral gentleness. To me, it’s lovely and it also makes me feel so regal when I’m drinking it. I’ve kept the black box and  packaging tin on my work days – which whisks me away to Paris day dreams every now and then.

Mariage Freres French Breakfast. My new love.

Leave a Reply

